Society for History
in the Federal Government

Henry Adams Prize (Book)

This annual award is given for an outstanding major publication on the federal government’s history. Entries may be narrative histories, edited collections of articles or essays, or any other published historical work of comparable scope. The Adams Prize is given to an individual or to principal collaborators. Entries are judged for value in furthering the understanding and history of the federal government; quality and thoroughness of research; style and appropriateness of presentation; suitability and rigor of methodology; and use of original and primary materials.

In addition to the General Requirements, nominated works must have been published in the calendar year immediately preceding the Spring awards. One copy of the publication, accompanied by a brief letter stating the qualifications and merits of the nominated work, should be mailed to each member of the Adams/Pendleton Committee by November 30:

  1. Jessie Kratz, 904 I St. SE, Washington, DC, 20003
  2. Zack Wilske, 1343 Massachusetts Ave SE, Washington, DC, 20003
  3. Kristin Mattice 220 20th St S, Apt 408, Arlington, VA, 22202

The Adams Prize commemorates the author of the classic multi–volume History of the United States during the Administrations of Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. Adams completed his scholarly work in Washington, where he maintained close contact with the successors of federal officials whose activities he analyzed in his History.


Society for History in the Federal Government 
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software