Society for History
in the Federal Government

About History@fedgov

History@fedgov presents a comprehensive and complete list of every known history page created by a federal agency, as well as links to the major federal historical resource sites. It is an Outreach effort of the Society for History in the Federal Government. The main purpose is to better educate the public about the history of their government. Over time, History@fedgov plans to develop original teaching and learning tools and other educational content. It will also be a tool to promote enrichment of existing federal history pages and encourage the creation of new pages.

We welcome your comments and questions on this Web page to

Judson MacLaury, Curator
Departmental Historian (retired)
U.S. Dept. of Labor


These organizations have provided support for History@fedgov:
Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association (GODORT).
National Active and Retired Federal Employees (NARFE).

SHFG Outreach Task Group (OTG)
The OTG was created in 2017, with Judson MacLaury as Chair. It developed the original concept of the Web page and helped plan and design the members-only Beta and current public versions.

Advisory Committee
The OTG has been renamed the permanent Advisory Committee (AC) for History@fedgov. The members are:
Judson MacLaury, Chair
Carl Ashley, Historian’s Office, Department of State
Christine Blackerby, Exhibits Curator, U.S. Capitol Visitors Center
Elizabeth Charles, Historian’s Office, Department of State
*David Coy, Social Media Consultant
*Benjamin Guterman, Editor, SHFG Federal History journal
*Daniel S. Holt, U.S. Senate Historical Office
Lee Ann Potter, Director, Educational Outreach, Library of Congress
Michael Reis, Senior Vice President, History Associates, Inc.
Don Ritchie, Senate Historian Emeritus
Marc Rothenberg, Research Associate, Smithsonian Institution Archives
*Gwen Sinclair, Government Documents Librarian, University of Hawai'i, Mānoa Library
*Zachary Wilske, Past PresIdent, SHFG
   * New AC member

Subcommittee on Promoting Understanding of Government:
Judson MacLaury, Chair
Lee Ann Potter
Michael Reis
Donald Ritchie
      This Subcommittee of the AC was created by Judson MacLaury after an October 2018 meeting of the above members. Concerned about the decline of public trust in government, we plan to develop a campaign using history to help people to better understand it. This Subcommittee will give us a base of operations until we establish our own permanent organization. We will operate independently of, but cooperatively with, SHFG as we build a network of supportive organizations and seek funding.


The following individuals performed important tasks in the completion of the Web page:
David Coy, AC
Benjamin Guterman, AC
Michael Reis, AC
Marc Rothenburg, AC
Gwen Sinclair, AC
Cathaleen Skinner, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Special thank you: Elizabeth Charles of the AC was invaluable in getting this page up and running on the SHFG Website.

Website Design by Natalya Brandt of Web Maven, Castro Valley, California.

Title background: L'Enfant Plan of Washington, 1791, Library of Congress.
Background banner color photos©, Judson MacLaury.
All other photos, National Archives.


Society for History in the Federal Government
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software