Log in

Book Prize

This prize is given for an outstanding major publication on the federal government’s history.


Entries may be narrative histories, edited collections of articles or essays, or any other published historical work of comparable scope. The prize is given to author(s) and/or editor(s). Entries are judged for value in furthering the understanding of the history of the federal government; quality and thoroughness of research; style and appropriateness of presentation; suitability and rigor of methodology; and use of original and primary materials.

Email for more information. 

Submission Process

1. Submit nomination through Google forms by December 15, 2023.

2. Include nominee(s)’s resume or curriculum vitae in nomination form.

3. Mail one copy of the publication, accompanied by a brief letter stating the qualifications and merits of the nominated work, to each member of the committee by December 15, 2023.

***Please note: The award is made solely on the basis of the materials submitted to the prize Committee Members. Addresses are detailed on the entry form.***

Committee Members

Kristin Ahlberg, US Department of State

Shannon Granville, US Army Center of Military History

Felicia Wivchar, Office of Art and Archives, US House of Representatives


Society for History in the Federal Government
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software