Society for History
in the Federal Government


Each year the Society awards six prizes for various types of historical publication and work furthering the understanding and history of the federal government:

The Henry Adams Prize and George Pendleton Prize 

Articles or Essays
The James Madison Prize and Charles Thomson Prize 

Documentary Edition or Research Aid
The Thomas Jefferson Prize 

Historic Preservation or Historical Display
The John Wesley Powell Prize

General Requirements for Awards

Authors, editors, publishers, members of the Society, or others who have knowledge of the eligible works may submit entries to the committee members listed for the specific award. Submissions should be received by November 30, but galley or other proofs of works to be published between November 30 and December 31 will be accepted with the understanding that copies of the published work will be sent to the appropriate awards chair as soon as possible, but no later than January 10.

General questions on the award program or policy may be addressed to Mattea Sanders, SHFG Awards Committee Chair:


The Society awards three prizes to recognize service to the profession not necessarily associated with publication, historic preservation, or public interpretive display. 

The Franklin Delano Roosevelt Award
The most prestigious service award,  given every three years, recognizes outstanding contributions to the study of the federal government’s history. A recipient of this award does not need to be a society member.

The Maryellen Trautman Award
Recognizes outstanding service to the Society.

The Roger R. Trask Award
Honors historians whose work reflects the unique importance of federal history and the mission of the Society. The annual award winner delivers the plenary address or, alternatively, participates in the plenary panel at the Society’s annual meeting; his or her remarks are subsequently published in the Society’s online journal, Federal History; and he or she receives an honorarium of $200 along with a certificate of recognition.


Society for History in the Federal Government 
PO BOX 14139
Ben Franklin Station, Washington, DC 20044

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software